Nehru Diary (3)

There are mainly 3 parts of the mountaineering training in Nehru, rock craft, snow craft and ice craft. Supplemented by other general knowledge like first aid, map reading, mountain weather….etc.

Rock craft is the base of all kinds of climbing, and fitness is the base of all. So from the first day of rock craft. We were asked to carry a rucksack with all the heavy but unnecessary equipment inside, walk for 2 hours to reach our training base of rock craft – Tekla.

帶著冰抓雪靴睡袋羽絨衣去一日岩攀Orz…

Tekla is inside a military area. There are boulders scattered around the grass land. And we can see a big rock face hidden behind the bushes. When we arrived, there was a hut already been set for cooking. And it seems the breakfast was ready, we can smell it from far. But we had to first do some stretching and strength training right after we put down the rucksack. After that, we finally had our breakfast.

Yesterday when distributing the equipment, I was surprised to find that NIM even provide a meal canteen! Everyone got a 2 layers metal canteen, a spoon, and a small cup. The cup looks fine, the it’s stainless steel. But the material of the canteen looks really not right ! (Toxic!) But anyway, I was too hungry to think about this.

During the training, there were 2 variations of breakfast, take turns every day.

The first one is: extremely watery oat milk or corn flake milk, 3 puris, watery chickpeas curry, 2 boil eggs and 1 portion of fruit.

The second one is: extremely watery oat milk or corn flake milk, jam and butter toasts, a thick omlet and 1 portion of fruit.

 

早餐範例~

Puri is a thin, unleavened deep-fried Indian bread. I don’t like oily food, so I took just 1 puri at the beginning of the training period. But after we moved the the 3500m mountain base camp, every morning I felt cold and hungry. I started to take 3 and enjoyed that! I always mashed the eggs and mixed it into the curry, tore the puri to pieces and put into the mix. It was nice actually. All my Indian classmates like puri breakfast more than toast.

But I still like the second one more. Because the omlet was awesome. There were onion, chili, and some veg inside the omlet, super tasty. I don’t like jam toast, so always took the butter one. But when we were in the base camp, the butter inside became solid due to the cold weather. Even my Indian classmates complained about that. But I kind of like it. I dipped my toast into the milk tea or oat milk and put into my mouth. Every hot food was tasty in the mountain~

 

Let’s back to the first climbing lesson at Tekla.

We first practicing bouldering. Every rope was taken by their own instructor to different boulders in the grass land. The highest boulder was not more than 1 and a half floor, the shortest could be less than the height of a man. There were numbers marked on the boulder to inform which one has a certain route to climb.

It’s the first time that we has our own rope lesson. Yesterday, a senior from Searching and Rescue Course(SRC) told me that my rope instructor- Deep Sahi, is the best instructor here in NIM. Soon I know he is right.

Deep 在上基本攀岩原則

My rope had extreme feature, we had me who totally don’t know anything about Hindi, and another Milkha who only undertand Hindi.

Milkha was only 16 years old. His real name is not Milkha, but he likes others call him Milkha. Because he is good at running, and Milkha Singh is name of the legendary athlete of India. Milkha was a bit taller than me, skinny but muscular. The first few day of the training, he always woke up early and did some strength training. As to the reason why he stopped after, I will mention later.

Milkha is one of the few selected student from NCC(National Cadet Corps ). NCC is a military organization , it’s open to school and college students on voluntary basis, aim to cultivate royal and patriotic youth. According to the translation from other students, Milkha had no idea he is coming for a mountaineering training before he arrived. He thought it was just one of the camps of NCC. Because Himalaya range guard the north border line of India, mountaineering means more than a sport for India. So the mountaineering institute in India has close relationship with military. Not only NCC send people to train here (of course for free), sometime NIM have students from army. And the important positions of those Institute were control by military.

Because of Milkha and me, every time Deep taught one time in Hindi, one time in English. He let us practice from a small boulder. He said, “Even the route is simple and clear, try not to climb up with only one step. Try to use more steps to accomplish it, slowly.” He wanted us to try the most complicated way to reach the top of the boulder.

It was my first climbing lesson, so did Milkha. He was vigorous and competitive while climbing. And seems he can’t really understand what Deep said. He climbed with strong arms, jumped up to the top of the boulder with his advantage: long arms and legs. Deep said, “He is too young…” then I got to know he was only 16.

Deep asked us to practice step by step. Climb with our eyes and legs, not just arms. We practiced different skills on different rocks, includes friction climb, mantle climb, traverse…it wasn’t hard, but enough to built up confidence. We had tried boulders with different size and shape, until the last one, which has a steep face. Non of us climbed up successfully. Deep told us with well-intentioned mind the importance of balancing and skill. But Milkha kept trying with his rough power and slided down every time. He kept asking Deep to give him one more chance to try until the last moment. I didn’t really understand his insistence and thought that a bit stubborn. But now I feel impressed by his act, even the way really need a bit correct. Compare to him, I thought more, but try less. Not sure it’s from the refining of aging or it’s just a self-raised obstacle. I guess finding the balance between both is important especially for sport.

When the course in Tekla ended, everyone seems enjoying a lot and having big progress. After anchoring and belaying lecture in the afternoon, we back to NIM, left the practicing part to tomorrow.

During the few days of rock craft, we had lectures in the auditory hall after 5 pm. Different topic were covered by a different instructor. The first lecture today is camp sanitary. And the second one is “Himalaya”, which I was looking forward to for a long time. And the lecturer was Deep! But from this lecture, I started to feel something wrong with my body.

Surprisingly Deep didn’t gave the lecture in English, I guess it’s because more students don’t understand English, especially young ones like Milkha. So the voice of Deep and his Hindi silenced in my distracted mind and slowly heated body. I felt a bit headache.

I was fine during the dinner later, but feeling totally wrong while I wrote my diary before sleep. I started to flake out on the bed.

The next morning, I was pretty sure that I was sick.

尼赫魯訓練日記(3)

尼赫魯的登山訓練主要分成三部分:岩攀、雪攀和冰攀。並輔以急救、讀圖定位、山域概況等等基礎知識課程。

攀岩是所有攀登的基礎,體力更是。所以從攀岩訓練開始的第一天,我們就被要求背上大背包,裡面塞滿雪靴、冰爪、睡袋等增加重量,在公路上重裝行進2小時,才抵達攀岩的訓練地─天然岩場Tekla。

帶著冰抓雪靴睡袋羽絨衣去一日岩攀Orz…

Tekla位在管制軍區裡,一整片的草地上散落各種形狀的大石,遠處樹林中隱隱能看見高二三十公尺的岩壁。我們到的時候,草地上已搭好炊事棚,遠遠就能聞到早餐的香味。但要吃到早飯還是不容易,才剛放下包,我們就被催趕著去做操,簡單的肌力訓練與伸展後才開飯。

前一天領裝備時,發現尼赫魯連餐具都準備好了!每個人拿到一個兩層相疊的鐵便當盒、湯匙和小杯子。小杯子應該是不鏽鋼的,但那鐵盒,一看就是有毒的啊!

不管不顧,淡定排隊盛菜。這一個月,早餐只有兩種變化,挨著天輪流換。

 

第一種:究極稀的燕麥奶或玉米片奶,Puri x3,很稀的鷹嘴豆咖哩,水煮蛋2個,水果1份

第二種:究極稀的燕麥奶或玉米片奶,果醬/奶油夾心吐司3份,厚實歐姆蛋1片,水果1份

早餐範例~

Puri是薄薄的油炸麵餅,我不太喜歡因為太油,訓練初期都只拿1片,還很嫌棄。到後來在山上又冷又餓的時候就和大家一樣拿3片了~總是把蛋弄散在鷹嘴豆咖哩裡,撕開Puri捏著吃,味道其實挺好的。我的印度同學一致比較喜歡Puri~

不過我比較喜歡第二種,因為搭配的歐姆蛋很厚很大一片又很好吃,裡頭加了洋蔥辣椒和一點蔬菜,很開胃。但我不喜歡吐司夾果醬,所以都拿奶油口味的。後來在山上早上很冷,奶油都結一層固體狀在吐司裡,連印度同學都抱怨難吃,我倒是很喜歡,泡在燕麥奶裡就往嘴裡塞。

 

回到第一天的Tekla攀岩。

首先是抱石,各小隊由各自教練帶開,找草地上散落的大石練習。這裡的大石最高不過1.5層樓,矮的只有1個人高,上頭有噴漆寫著數字的都是有路線可練習的大石。

這是我們小隊第一次一起上課。前一天遇到在上搜救的學長還跟我說,我的小隊教練Deep Sahi是最好的教練,我很快就知道他是對的。

Deep 在上基本攀岩原則

我的小隊組成很極端,有一個完全聽不懂印度語的我,還有一個只聽得懂印度語的印度同學Milkha。

Milkha才16歲,他本名不叫Milkha,但很喜歡人家叫他Milkha,因為他很善跑,而Milkha Singh是印度傳奇運動家的名字。Milkha比我高一些,有些瘦削,但肌肉精實充滿爆發力,剛開始的幾天清晨,總看到他自動在宿舍外做伏地挺身等肌力訓練。至於為什麼只有前幾天,容後再提~

Milkha是少數幾個被NCC選送來參加BMC的學生。NCC(National Cadet Corps )是國家青年軍團的簡稱,是自願性的印度軍隊組織,負責招募中學生及大學生,為國家訓練強壯且忠誠的愛國者。據其他印度同學翻譯,Milkha來到尼赫魯之前完全不知道自己要來接受登山訓練,以為只是NCC時常舉辦的營隊之一而已。由於印度的北面屏障是喜馬拉雅山,登山對於印度的意義不只是運動而已,還關乎著保家衛國,因此印度的登山訓練機構與軍方關係密切,不只NCC長年選送青少年來參加訓練(當然是免費~),偶爾軍方也有,更遑論訓練中心的要職都是由軍方人士所掌控。

為了我們兩個,Deep在教學的時候,總是一遍用英語,一遍用印度語講解。他讓我們從不足身高的小石開始練起,他說:「即便路線看起來很明顯,也不要一步跨過,試著用最多步到終點,慢慢移動。」他希望我們嘗試用最複雜的路線達上這些巨石。

這是我第一堂攀岩課,也是Milkha的第一堂,他精力旺盛,充滿活力,在攀岩時有著明顯的躁動與好勝心,他似乎也聽不太懂Deep的講解,靠著強壯的手臂,長臂長腳,一躍而上所有大石。對於這點,Deep並不是很看好,他語重心長地說:「他畢竟太年輕了。」我此時一問才知原來他才16歲。

Deep讓我們一步一步的練習,從用眼睛看,用腳的力量,摩擦式的攀登,橫渡,撐起式的攀登,Tekla有各種供練習不同攀登技巧的岩石,難度不高,又足夠建立信心,我只能說Deep很在行安排課程。他帶著我們一一試過大小岩石,直到最後一塊略顯光滑的岩壁,我們沒一個人爬得上去。Deep趁機告訴我們平衡與技巧的重要,不過Milkha聽不進去,咬牙死撐著用盡手臂力量,每次都失敗滑下,卻直到最後一刻都要求Deep讓他再試一次。我那時不太能理解那種執著與他的失落,如今卻是佩服他那時不輕言放棄的態度(即便方法需要修正)。比起他,我動的少,想的多,不知是年歲的淬鍊,還是自築的障礙。對於運動而言,取得平衡會是重要的努力方向。

上午的課程在眾人有所得,又對未來進展有所目標的正向氛圍下結束。下午全員集合上了一堂自我確保固定點跟確保方法(Anchoring and belaying)後,便準備回中心,實際操作練習留待明日。

岩攀的這幾日,下午五點後都是室內課,不同主題由不同教練負責,這天下午第一堂是營地的環境衛生,第二堂是「喜馬拉雅」,我期待已久的主題,而且還是Deep上的。

但我也是從「喜馬拉雅」這堂課開始,身體感覺不對勁。Deep意料之外的沒怎麼用英文上課,大概是顧及許多學生並不通英文,特別是像Milkha一般年輕的同學。於是Deep的印度語在我發散的注意力與逐漸發熱的身體中消音,我感覺頭有點痛,卻不是經常困擾我的偏頭痛。晚餐倒是沒事,反而睡前後我例行紀錄時,終於察覺不對勁,我躺上床開始昏睡。

隔天一早,全身虛弱,自此確定自己真的生病了….